Unplug

As much as I hate admitting that this social media addiction thing is real, it is. I recently took part in a 10 day social media fast for two reasons. One, to test my level of dependence on social media and two, to evaluate how much of my daily time I dedicate to my spiritual life.

The first few days of my fast, I found myself constantly reaching for my phone. I finally had to make sure the apps were completely logged off and moved around on my phone so they were not so easily accessible. It took a few days of a sort of “detox period” until I found myself not thinking about social media as often.
After completing this fast, I felt less stressed, which I never thought I was to begin with. I also became more consistent in praying my rosary. Each time I would get the urge to check on social media I would pray the rosary instead. The peace that I felt by dedicating otherwise wasted time to my spiritual life is indescribable.

Some other things I noticed during my social media fast: I took on more critical thinking tasks, I read books more, I exercised more and more consistently, I volunteered more, I cleaned house more. I completed many tasks that I otherwise would have put off and the best part was having one on one time with my husband before bed. We talked and laughed and watched movies and had nothing else interfering with “us” time.

I hate that today’s society is dictating that we connect through social media or else we feel as if we are missing out. We click a button to share articles on Facebook with each other, but never call each other on the phone to discuss them. We base or friendships on likes and followers, instead of real face to face interactions or phone calls if distance is a factor. I was sucked in to a world that was manipulating me and influencing me in ways I didn’t even think were possible. This social media fast helped me become more self aware, grew my self confidence and has helped me prioritize things in my life.

I will continue to limit my usage and ensure that I log off each night and continue to challenge myself to grow in prayer, family and face to face connections with those I come in contact with.

Leave a comment